so about that easter post

[This is long overdue. But I hope that this is one of those cases to which the expression “better late than never” can be aptly applied. And the world can always use another apple crisp recipe, right?]

He is risen!

IMG_2973And so is the sun. It comes up early these days – haven’t seen 5:00 am in a while but it was a worthwhile adventure, though a cold one. I realized that sunrise services aren’t really an Easter tradition on the West Coast, which makes sense because there isn’t a whole lot to see.

After the sunrise I got to go to a family from church’s house and make pancakes! I ate a lot of bacon. Which is weird. I don’t usually eat bacon, but I guess holidays change things?

Then there was a potluck at the church I went to last year before the incredible Easter service. I finally saw the college pastor, and got to hang out with my friend, grad student, social worker, and full-time superhero Sarah while munching on a whole boatload of tasties, which always makes for a good time.

IMG_2988The powdered sugar-topped roll in the front is a bacon cinnamon roll. Seriously. What is with all the bacon.

Thankfully it calmed down for Easter dinner, which was cooked by my incredible cousins and included sprouted quinoa bread, an awesome roasted leg of lamb, brussels sprouts baked with quinoa and spinach, and a long walk afterwards to help it all settle before dessert, which was strawberry shortcake, blackberry pudding with a balsamic reduction, pear bread, and lots and lots of whipped cream.

IMG_2999IMG_2994IMG_2998I’m not really sure why it is that every celebration ends up being an excuse to eat as much food as possible but now that I’ve had a few days to recover, I guess I’m okay with it. Sunday, though, was the culmination of the potluck madness and not the beginning. I didn’t contribute very substantially on Sunday (except in terms of eating things – all. the. things.) but on Maundy Thursday I brought anadama muffins and apple crisp to a church dinner, and on Saturday I brought coffee cake banana bread to a post-Whole30 celebration potluck at the CrossFit gym I’ve been doing the Saturday morning team workouts at.

So yeah. Lots of food.

Now that I’ve remembered that I never finished my Christmas recipe recap (for reasons I can totally explain, namely, I really wanted to remake the dark chocolate raspberry layer bars I made with white chocolate instead of coconut butter, but white chocolate has SO MUCH SUGAR and cocoa butter is definitely on the too-pricey-to-justify end of the health food spectrum), I have Easter weekend recipes!

Nuts and Seeds Apple Crisp

IMG_2880{gluten-free, can be paleo – sub almond flour for oats}

serves ~10

adapted from Kelli Dunn’s Gluten-Free Apple Crisp

3 medium apples, peeled (if desired), cored, and diced (I used 2 Granny Smiths and a Braeburn)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon lemon juice

1/2 cup almond flour
1/2 cup gluten-free oats
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/4 cup sunflower seeds, chopped
1/4 cup honey
3 tablespoons coconut oil (room temperature)

Preheat oven to 375. Prepare the apples and toss them with the cinnamon, honey, and lemon juice in a medium bowl. Spread in a 9×9 baking dish or 9-inch cake pan. In the same bowl or a separate one, stir the almond flour, oats, salt, cinnamon, and sunflower seeds together till well-combined. Add honey and coconut oil and mix with a fork or pastry blender until crumbles form. Sprinkle evenly over apples and bake for 20-30 minutes, until top is just starting to brown. Serve warm (tastes best with ice cream!).

Sweet Potato Biscuits

{paleo}

serves 12-16

adapted from Paleo Parents’ Sweet Potato Drop Biscuits

1 cup baked sweet potato
5 tbsp coconut flour
1/3 c almond flour
2 eggs
1 tbsp psyllium husk whole flakes
2 tbsp Italian seasoning
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cream of tartar

Preheat oven to 350. Combine all ingredients in a food processor, or puree the sweet potato, flours, eggs, and psyllium and then mix in the remaining ingredients by hand or with a mixer. Add milk of choice if dough is too dry – it shouldn’t be liquidy, but it shouldn’t be stiff either. Drop dough by rounded spoonfuls (~1/4 cup) onto a greased baking sheet, shaping them as desired. Bake for 12-18 minutes, until the tops begin to brown. Using psyllium as a baking ingredient tends to make dough retain liquid, so it may take a little longer for the biscuits to bake all the way through and they will stay chewy.

I guess I didn’t take any pictures of these, oops! I’ll just have to make them again soon, I guess. 🙂

I do have a picture of the crazy-awesome coffeecake banana bread I took to a Whole30 celebration potluck, so I’ll leave you with this:

IMG_2937You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

