whole30 recap week 4: it’s a wrap!

Today is my last day of the Whole30! It’s a little bit scary, thinking about how I’m going to go about reintroduction. With Easter this Sunday there’s sure to be a lot of non-paleo food around, but I’m planning on taking things as they come and not stressing out too much.

Since this is my last recap post, I thought I would feature a selection of wrap recipes to package this series of sorts up nicely. I also realized I haven’t yet shared my tortilla recipe, so I’m going to include that along with a garbanzo bean flour wrap and two paleo wrap recipes. I like putting things in wraps and tortillas, I guess. I do it pretty often.

Before we get to wrapping, some details about the end of my Whole30: I feel good but not like I could take on the world, and I’m really hoping the reintroduction of gluten-free grains and beans goes well because I miss them. (Burrito bowls, anyone?) Also, POPCORN. And I am so excited to be able to bake again. I love paleo baked goods but they tend to be on the heavier side because of high quantities of almond flour, nut butters, and other fat sources so I’m not planning on keeping my baking adventures paleo unless I’m really having trouble with grains. Fingers crossed.

I successfully poached an egg! And I even have proof.

IMG_2486A subsequent attempt did not yield as satisfactory results, but I changed my method so I’m pretty sure this one is fail-safe. I will keep testing to confirm. Fortunately between my frittatas and my porridge I managed not to get sick of eggs in the past 30 days. Score one for the home team.

I discovered some AMAZING paleo trail mixes at Whole Foods. It took a lot of ingredient-reading but it definitely paid off. They’re sprouted mixes made by Living Intentions. They cost a pretty penny and of course I forgot my giftcards (for the fourth or fifth time) so I just bought a little and I’m planning to go back for more soon.

I guess it was a good week for snacks. I made (a lot) more carrot fries and baked some banana chips. They weren’t very crunchy, but still delicious! My favorite snack by far though is frozen bananas and guacamole. It sounds kind of weird, I know, but plantain chips and guacamole are a thing so why not bananas? I mixed some salsa into the guac too and the creamy and the spicy and the sweet just work together so unbelievably well. You should probably try it. It just might change your life.

I’m counting down the hours till tomorrow, which promises [paleo] pancakes, Cherry Farm ice cream, and [paleo] meatball subs. Ice cream is what’s going to break my paleo streak, I know that much about my reintroduction plan!

And now for the wrap round-up. First up, the non-paleo entries!

Simple Homemade Flour Tortillas

makes 12

adapted from Epicurious’ Basic Flour Tortilla Recipe

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp vegetable/olive oil
3/4 cup warm water (add more as needed to achieve consistency)

Whisk dry ingredients together. Add oil and half of the water. Mix together and add more water until dough forms. It should make a ball but not be too sticky. Turn out onto a floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic. Divide into 12 equal pieces and cover with a damp towel (paper is fine) for 30 minutes. [This step is optional – you can go straight to the rolling out, but it does make the dough smoother and easier to work with.]

Roll out each piece to desired thickness (less than 1/4 inch is ideal). Heat a skillet or griddle over medium heat and cook tortillas on both sides, about 30 to 45 seconds each side. If you’re making a lot at once, keep the cooked ones under a plate with a damp paper towel so they don’t dry out. Fill with whatever you like and enjoy! Yes, buying a pack of tortillas at the store is much less time-consuming, but they can’t match these in flavor and freshness!

IMG_6767 IMG_6771Garbanzo Bean Flour Wraps

{gluten-free}

makes 6-10

from The Pancake Princess’ Chickpea Flour Tortillas

2 tablespoons ground flaxseed (flax meal)
2 tablespoons warm water
1 cup garbanzo bean flour
2/3 cup water, or more depending on consistency preference
¼ to ½ tsp salt
seasonings/spices to taste

Mix flaxseed and warm water together and set aside to gel. Measure 1 cup garbanzo bean flour into a bowl, mix in salt, and add desired seasonings (cumin, curry, chili, cinnamon, garlic, onion powder, pepper, etc. – I made my first batch with Italian seasoning and black pepper). When flaxseed mixture is thickened, add to flour along with 2/3 cup water (or more if desired – I used a little over 1 ½ cups for a very runny, crepe-like batter that spread easily). Heat a skillet over medium heat and grease with olive or coconut oil. Pour/scoop 3 tbsp to ½ cup batter into hot skillet and rotate to spread batter evenly. Cook until edges look dry and golden, approx. 2-3 minutes. Flip and cook other side for 30-60 seconds. Thicker tortillas will cook more slowly – just watch to see how long yours take. Top or fill with whatever you like! They’re delicious with hummus and curry garlic chicken, but that’s just the beginning 🙂 The simplicity of this recipe makes it extremely conducive to experimenting with flavor combinations – if you try it, let me know what you come up with!

Using 2/3 cup water will yield about 6 tortillas; my batch with 1 ½ cups water made 9.

IMG_0073Coconut Flour Wrap

{paleo}

makes 1

1 tbsp coconut flour
3 tbsp liquid egg whites or 1 1/2 real egg whites
2-3 tbsp water
flaxseed/salt/seasonings if desired

Mix all ingredients together. Batter should resemble that of pancakes – not too thick or runny. Heat a skillet over medium heat and add 1 tsp to 1/2 tbsp of oil (I Iike coconut). When oil is hot, swirl it around the skillet to coat it completely. Pour batter into the center of the skillet and let it spread by itself. It should be a little thicker than a normal tortilla. Cook until top is set, then flip (I recommend using a plate) and cook for about 30 seconds on the other side. Put it on a plate and load it up! If it doesn’t hold together as well as you’d like, add more egg whites. It can be tricky to find a good ratio of flour to egg whites but this seems to work pretty well.

IMG_2470photo 3Cauliflower Wraps

{paleo}

makes ~6

from Slim Palate’s Cauliflower Tortillas

1/2 head cauliflower, riced fine (break into florets and pulse in a food processor)
1 egg
6 tbsp egg whites (or 1 more egg)
salt and pepper to taste

Rice the cauliflower and microwave it in a bowl for 1:30. Stir and microwave again for 2:00. Turn out onto a clean dish towel and wring out the water, being EXTREMELY CAREFUL because it will be VERY HOT. You can wait for it to cool down so that you can squeeze it out really well. Put the squeezed cauliflower in a bowl and mix with egg(s) and egg whites. Heat a skillet or griddle over medium heat and grease to coat. Use a spoon to pour mixture into the skillet and spread it around until it’s as thin as you want it. When edges look dry, flip and cook other side. These are really good with vegetables cooked with sunshine sauce (pictured below)!

IMG_2448So there you have it, folks: my first whole30 completed! Stay tuned for the reintroduction of healthy dessert recipes because those are definitely on the agenda for the week 🙂

4 thoughts on “whole30 recap week 4: it’s a wrap!

  1. Oh yay!!!!!! So glad you tried + liked the tortillas–some people have had some issues making them, but yours look awesome! I keep thinking I should rename them “flatbreads” since they’re not exactly tortillas, but then I waffle. What do you think?

    Also, I’ve been so fascinated with Whole30, but as a vegetarian, I am a little wary of trying it even though I know it’s been done. And I’m off to read your recaps! I love reading about Whole30 journeys 🙂

    • they came out great! I made the batter really thin and was super impressed by how well they still held together. I think “tortilla” is a fairly broad term – “flatbread” connotes a thicker, less wrap-able result in my mind, more like a pita or naan, but tortillas can be thin or thick.
      hmm, yeah I was really dependent on meat as a protein source during my whole30 but I bet you could do it with eggs and nuts! 🙂 I loved all the egg recipes I tried, especially the porridge.
      thanks so much for checking out my blog!!

      • Ah. I agree with you. Thanks for finally making me feel justified in keeping those tortillas named tortillas 😉

        Maybe I shall give it a try someday! I know 30 days is really not a long time at all in the grand scheme of things, but….commitment is a scary thing. And your blog is awesome! (I was an English major too :))

      • My pleasure 🙂 It is scary, but definitely worth it even just to realize how rewarding making such good decisions is. And how good it feels to stay strong in the face of temptation! Willpower is a potent thing 🙂
        Ahh you’re so sweet! The blog definitely needs a makeover haha. Still need to finish up my Italy posts so I can really get going with the recipes 🙂

Leave a Reply

