whole30 week 1 recap

It’s day 8 – only 22 days to go! This week was definitely not as nightmarish as the official Whole30 timeline suggests that it can be, and I’m thankful for that since I have a lot going on these days with housing deadlines and registration and job applications – plus all of the papers I didn’t write over spring break (yeahh #mapa2014!). I ate a lot of eggs and a lot of meat and a huge bag of spinach. I realized how sensitive I am to caffeine, which is funny because once upon a time I was convinced it didn’t affect me at all. I made some awesome new recipes, two of which I’m posting!

Beef Stew

{paleo}

serves ~4

adapted from Our Paleo Life’s Crockpot Paleo Beef Stew

1 onion, chopped
1 large sweet potato, cut in chunks
3 carrots, sliced
1 can diced tomatoes
2-3 cups beef/vegetable broth
10-14 oz. stew beef, cut in bite-size pieces
2 tsp oregano
1 tsp basil
1/3 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 tsp paleo hot sauce (Tabasco and Frank’s are compliant)
2 tsp minced garlic

Cook beef in a skillet until just brown. Combine all ingredients in a crockpot and cook on low for 8-10 hours, or 6 hours and then turn to high for 1 more hour. I liked eating my stew with spinach or broccoli, and sometimes I added salsa or more hot sauce for an extra kick!

IMG_1585Moroccan Chicken

{paleo}

serves 4-6

based on the recipe from Dallas and Melissa Hartwig’s book, It Starts With Food

2/3 cup broth of choice (I used chicken)
2/3 cup light coconut milk
1 medium onion, sliced
1/2 tbsp minced garlic
1/4 cup raisins
2-3 large boneless skinless chicken breasts
cinnamon, cumin, chili, ginger to taste (I used 1/4 – 1/2 tsp each, except for cinnamon – probably 1 tsp)

Heat broth and milk over medium heat in a large skillet. Add onion and simmer until soft. Add raisins, chicken breasts, and spices. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer chicken till cooked through and tender, about 10 minutes on each side. Cut chicken in half and serve with vegetables.

IMG_1716

So yeah. That’s Whole30 week 1 in a nutshell. I’m surprised by how much I don’t crave sweet things – I was making [healthy] bowl-cakes on the regular before spring break – but dinner’s not always the last thing I eat. I’m going to try to improve on that this week. I also tend to snack a lot while I’m cooking – a habit that might be scary to break as I realize how much I eat without thinking about it. I definitely want to learn to be more intentional about my eating patterns. And how to poach eggs! That’s on the to-do list for this week.

Oh, and tostones are the most delicious things ever and everyone needs them in their lives. That is all.

Leave a Reply

