the things that are happening

IMG_1549

Here’s a crazy thing. I decided to start a Whole30 after spring break (which was awesome and jam-packed with delicious but not necessarily nutritious food that definitely got me ready for a detox). The Whole30 guidelines are similar to paleo but more strict, which is ironic because I never thought I would go paleo. But this is only for 30 days, 5 of which are already over. And they have been great. Except for the part where my eye won’t stop twitching. And I found out that most of my tea has soy lecithin in it.

I’m documenting all my gluten-free, grain-free, dairy-free, legume-free, processed food-free, sweetener-free meals via Instagram (username blondeanddetermined; that’s the account linked to my blog’s sidebar) and I’m planning to do weekly recaps that include recipes I’ve tried and loved. Which has been all of the ones I’ve made so far, so there will be no shortage.

In fact, I’m posting one now! These muffins aren’t the prettiest, but they’re quick and they’re keeping well in my fridge so far. Great for breakfast on school mornings when I don’t want to wake up early to cook something fresh.

IMG_1566Paleo Frittata Muffins

{gluten-free, dairy-free, paleo}

makes 12 muffins

1 medium onion, chopped
1 – 1 1/2 cups broccoli
2/3 cup mushroom slices
1-2 cups spinach
6-8 oz ground turkey
fresh minced garlic
Italian seasoning
pepper
9-12 eggs or a combination of eggs+whites (use 1 1/2 whites or 3 tbsp liquid egg whites for every egg substitution)

Brown meat and set aside.
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease muffin tin WELL. [I did not, and I had to soak it for three days.] Cook veggies with desired seasonings until tender; add meat. Distribute filling evenly among muffin cups.
Whisk eggs together until uniform in color and pour over vegetables. This works best if you use a container with a spout.
Bake muffins for 18-22 minutes. Hope they come out more cleanly than mine did.
Top as desired (this particular combination goes well with salsa or marinara sauce) and enjoy!

IMG_1573

The cool thing about frittatas is that you can make them with any vegetables and any meat (or no meat at all). It’s kind of like the egg breakfast version of chili – as long as you have the staple ingredient, it counts. I’m running low on my stash so I’ll probably be making another batch this weekend for Whole30 week two – any flavor combination suggestions? šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

