snow day curry

At CrossFit gyms, or “boxes,” when you complete the Workout of the Day as it’s written, you say or write that you “Rx’ed” it. As in, completed as prescribed.

That’s what I’ve heard, anyway. I don’t do CrossFit. (But hey, if anyone wants to hand me a CrossFit box membership I wouldn’t say no. You just can’t laugh at me when I attempt a handstand push-up and end up falling on my face, or trip while trying to do double-unders. Because both of those things would probably happen. A lot of times.)

I also don’t follow recipes, or complete them as prescribed. (See, there was a point to all of that.) At least not very well. Or very often. In my defense, a college student can only spring for so many obscure healthy ingredients – and for some reason, I just haven’t been able to get on board with things like “erythritol” and “agar agar.” Which keeps my wallet in a slightly more manageable state of deficiency because both those particular items happen to cost a pretty penny.

We had a snow day yesterday, and I had a squash and a strong desire for something warm but not souplike for dinner. And if it’s warm, it might as well be spicy just to make things more interesting.

ImageEnter butternut squash curry.

I used this recipe to make dinner for my family before, but when you’re a college student – at least in my experience – who doesn’t live at home, coriander and fennel aren’t exactly items you make a point of keeping on hand. Actually, we didn’t have most of the spices or any of the peppers when I made this at home either – and I can’t say I have any idea what tamarind paste is. And I guess you can call a recipe a curry without putting any curry powder in it, but I’m a big fan of the stuff and we do have it – a large container of it, in fact – in our apartment so that definitely got put to use.

Here’s the result of my adaptations, made both out of necessity and according to preference. It’s the perfect snow day meal, but don’t feel obligated to wait for the next one to try it!

Butternut Squash Coconut Curry

{gluten-free, dairy-free; can be vegan [leave out chicken] and/or paleo [leave out garbanzo beans]}

serves 6-8

adapted from The Kitchn’s Butternut Squash & Coconut Curry

1 tbsp coconut oil
1 yellow onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, chopped, or 2 tsp fresh minced garlic
1 tsp curry powder
1/2 tsp each cayenne pepper, cumin, and mustard [dry powder]
salt and pepper to taste
2 (or more) chicken breasts, chopped
1 medium butternut squash, peeled and cut into 1/2″ cubes
1/2 can regular coconut milk or 1 can light coconut milk
1 cup water (2 if using regular coconut milk)
1-2 cans garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
cilantro if desired

Melt coconut oil in large pot or skillet over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and cook until onion is translucent. Mix in spices, chicken, squash, coconut milk, and water and bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer until squash is soft and curry is thick (roughly 45 minutes). If using garbanzo beans, add about 15 minutes prior to serving. Serve with brown rice or over spinach and garnish with cilantro if desired.

I desired, because I have a huge bunch sitting in my refrigerator that I bought to make green enchiladas with. I made green enchiladas and the bunch doesn’t appear to have diminished in its hugeness at all. Cilantro on all the things!

This isn’t set in stone, because I don’t live with a bunch of awesome people who took a stonecarving class in Italy anymore, but the tentative plan is to post recipes on Thursdays and Sundays. Maybe the Thursday recipe will be a meal and the Sunday recipe will be a dessert, but just in case I reallyyyyyy need to share a brilliant cookie recipe on a Thursday, I’m not going to make that a definite thing either. Yay for news that may or may not actually mean anything!

Image

Leave a Reply

