the christmas recipe recap {part 1}

Okay. So I’m back at school. And it’s REALLY COLD.

This is all very experimental, and I’m not sure where to start. Kind of like my advanced writing class project, which I should have started like, um, a month ago. Oops.

Part of the problem is that a lot of the healthy recipe blogs I follow started out as not-so-healthy recipe blogs. But I wasn’t blogging when I decided I liked coconut oil better than butter and stevia better than sugar so that makes things kind of awkward.

Starting is the hardest part, right?

So I’m just gonna start with what I got.

I made these muffins for Christmas breakfast for me and my gluten-free brother. He’s one of the more particular people I know so it was a pretty big deal that he enjoyed them. I ate one and a half and he polished off the rest. Pictures aren’t great – still working on that part! But the recipe is a success 🙂

Apple Oatmeal Muffins

{gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free}

adapted from Knead to Cook’s Oatmeal Honey Apple Muffins

1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk (or any milk)
1 egg white or 1 1/2 tbsp liquid egg whites
2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
2 tbsp to 1/4 cup honey, depending on your sweetness preference
2/3 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup brown rice flour/oat flour or a combination of the two (if you’re not gluten-free, you can use whole wheat flour)
1/2 cup chopped peeled apple
2 tbsp flaxseed meal
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 to 1 tsp apple pie spice
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and spray a muffin tin with nonstick spray. Mix together the milk oil, egg, and honey, and then add oats, flour, apple, flax, spices, and salt. Blend until just mixed and scoop batter into muffin tins – fill halfway to 3/4 full – and bake for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Yay muffins!

Image

Funny story, this batter also makes tasty pancakes. And they’re really good with cinnamon applesauce.

Image

Leave a Reply

